Sex Offender Address Verification Requirements
Michigan Sex Offense Criminal Defense Attorneys
In Michigan, there is a mandatory requirement that a person convicted of specific, identified offenses must register with the Michigan State Police if any of the following conditions are met:
• On or after October 1, 1995, the offender was: (1) on probation or parole in Michigan, either from a Michigan conviction or an out-of-state conviction that was transferred to Michigan; (2) in a Michigan jail or correctional facility; or (3) under the jurisdiction of the Juvenile Division of the Probate Court or Family Division of a Circuit Court.
• The offender was required to register or be identified as a child offender or predator under comparable laws from another state, and then temporarily or permanently locates in Michigan.
• The offender was previously convicted of a listed offense for which he or she did not have to register, but is convicted of any other felony on or after July 1, 2011.
• The offender was assigned to the Holmes Youthful Trainee program before October 1, 2004, or the offender was given a delayed sentencing.
The Michigan Sex Offender Registration Act (SORA) requires that offenders pay a one-time registration fee. Effective July 1, 2011, this fee raised from $35 to $50, though offenders who already previously paid the $35 fee will not have to pay the $50 fee.
SORA requires in-person notification to the Michigan State Police or local law enforcement if the offender:
2. changes or discontinues employment,
3. enrolls or un-enrolls as a student at a higher learning institution,
4. changes his or her name,
5. intents to temporarily reside at any place other than his or her residence for more than 7 days (this includes vacations),
6. establishes any e-mail, instant messaging address, or screen name, or
7. purchases, begins to operate regularly, or sells any vehicle.
There may be special conditions placed on an offender that are not spelled out in SORA. The Parole and Commutation Board, sentencing court, or another supervising officer will place these special conditions on offenders as deemed necessary.
Tier 1 Offenders
Tier I offenders are not listed on the public website, but they still must register one time per year in-person at the nearest State Police post or local law enforcement office. This registration occurs between January 1 and January 15. Tier I registration lasts for 15 years, unless the offender petitions for and is granted a length reduction after 10 years of being on the sex offender registry.
Tier II Offenders
Tier II offenders are listed on the public website. They must register in-person twice per year with the State Police or local law enforcement office. This registration occurs between January 1 and January 15, and between July 1 and July 15. Tier II registration lasts for 25 years.
Tier III Offenders
Tier III offenders are listed on the public website. They must register four times per year in-person at with the State Police or local law enforcement agency. This registration occurs between January 1 and January 15, between April 1 and April 15, between July 1 and July 15, and between October 1 and October 15. Tier III registration lasts for a lifetime.
Further consultation: If you are having a legal issue regarding sex offender registration, your Tier classification, or removal from the sex offender registry, visit our SORA website at: www.MichiganSORA.com. If you do want to call our office, please do so between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.