Tier 2 Sex Crimes Convictions
Michigan Sex Crime Attorneys Tier 2 Sex Crime Conviction
Michigan’s sex offender registration laws changed significantly in July, 2011. Registered sex offenders are now broken up into three different tiers, with Tier 1 being the least serious and Tier 3 being the most serious.
Tier 2 crimes in Michigan include:
- Subsequent Tier I crime committed by someone who has already been convicted of a Tier I crime
- CSC (Criminal Sexual Conduct) 2nd degree against victim aged 13 or older
- CSC 4th degree against a victim aged 13 up to 18
- Assault with intent to commit CSC 2nd degree against a victim aged 13 up to 18
- Distribution of child sexually abusive material (CSAM) also known as kiddie porn
- Accosting, enticing, or soliciting a child under 16 for an immoral purpose
- Pandering (enticing a female to prostitute herself)
- Using a computer to solicit or commit an immoral act against a minor
- Sodomy against a victim aged 13 up to 18
- Enticing, persuading, inducing, coercing, causing, or knowingly allowing a minor to be involved with sexually abusive activity for the purpose of producing child sexually abusive material (child pornography)
- Solicitation against a minor
- Gross indecency against a victim aged 13 up to 18
- A substantially similar offense to the ones described above under the laws of another jurisdiction
- An attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the above
Tier 2 requires registration for 25 years on Michigan Sex Offender Registry. In the past, many sex offenders were already ordered to 25 years of registration, so for those who fall into Tier 2, nothing about their length of registration will change. However, in-person verification at the police station only occurs twice per year for Tier 2 offenders: between January 1 and January 15, and again between July 1 and July 15.
Some Tier 2 offenders will be eligible to petition for immediate removal from the sex offender registry.